With the name Hermitage or Hermitage, we identify a complex of buildings built between the 1754 and the 1789 except the New Hermitage created between the 1839 and the 1851. In these years 5 buildings are realized:

  • The Winter Palace, designed by Bartolomeo Rastrelli, born as imperial residence for the Empress Elizabeth of Russia, who died, however, before its implementation.
  • The Little Hermitage, designed by Jean-Baptiste Vallin de la Mothe and Jurij Velten, wanted by Catherine the Great to escape the hustle and bustle of the imperial palace. The museum was born here. Caterina filled the building with works of art bought on the European market.
  • The Grande Ermitage, also called Vecchio Ermitage, by Jurij Velten.
  • The New Ermitage, created by Leo von Klenze (last realization).
  • The Hermitage Theater, created by Giacomo Quarenghi.

Ermitage St. Petersburg

The entire collection of works of art grew out of proportion, so as to require the creation of subsequent buildings to 1771 from the Great Hermitage, Hermitage Theatre at the New Hermitage.

The complex of 5 buildings is now called Hermitage or Hermitage. It is located in St. Petersburg, on the Lungoneva Dvorcovaja. For over two centuries until the 1917 it housed the families of the Romanov Tsars. Now it has become the State Museum Hermitage, in Russian "Государственный Музей Эрмитаж" and houses some of the most important works in the world.

Among the various artists are works by Caravaggio, Antonio Canova, Francesco Casanova, Leonardo da Vinci, Paul Gauguin, Henri Matisse, Claude Monet, Pablo Picasso, Vincent Van Gogh and many others.

Today the Hermitage is one of the most popular and finest museums in the world.


This site uses cookies to track and customize the experience of the user's navigation. Read Cookie Policy.